Rovers Squad for Club Champs

Chris Mickelwood the former South African Schools fullback will lead the 25 man Jonsson College Rovers squad to the National Club Rugby National Club Rugby Championships in Stellenbosch starting (on Saturday) tomorrow. The team will fly off to Cape Town without their key over two metre lock forward Byron Egan who will undoubtedly be badly missed but they do still however have the luxury of a Springbok centre in Gcobani Bobo and seven team members who have played Currie Cup rugby as well as a former Western Province under 21 hooker Mark Goosen, who has also played for UCT in the Varsity Cup, in their impressive line up.

The Rovers squad is: Chris Jordaan, Mark Richards, Chris Mickelwood (capt), Gcobani Bobo, Jors Dannhauser, Guy Cronje, Ross Cronje, Eric Ngoie, Daniel Adonga, Kosie Haarhoff (v/capt), Nicolai Blignaut, Michael Williams, Julian Redelinghuys, Dusty Timlin and Sabelo Nhlapo. Bench-Roy Godfrey, Sangoni Mxoli, Mark Goosen, Juan Language, Tim Agaba, Kelvin Adam, Johan van Wyk, Anton Verster, Jerome Pretorius and Rosco Speckman.

Rovers meet S.K. Walmers in their opening round tomorrow, which features as the main game on the opening day.

- Jos Robson