Cell C Community play-offs

Chris Micklewood will lead a relatively new but talented Jonnson College Rovers squad for the Cell C Community play-offs in George over the Easter Weekend opening with their quarter final opener against Border champions Old Selbornians on Thursday 17 April.

Rovers, two time winners of the National Club Championships in recent seasons and last year’s runners up, will be looking at making amends for losing out against Despatch from the Eastern Cape and come away with top honours.

Coach, former Eastern Province and Border flyhalf Greg Miller, together with Beans Bateman and help from former Sharks prop Edward Coetzee, have selected a very useful combination that will be going all out to play their way into the final. Certainly the likes of current champions Despatch who will be wanting to retain the cup, the powerful uncompromising Hamilton Sea Point Rugby Club from Western Province who are the oldest rugby club in South Africa and also to lesser extent Impala coached by former Sharks coach Hugh Reece-Edwards will not be push overs when the sides all meet in the play-offs over the weekend starting on Thursday.

All games will be televised.

The team is Mox Mxoli, Jarred Crouch, Matt Jones, Warwick Venter, Duane Coetzen, Kirk Twine, Kelvin ‘Cheese’ Adam, Mesuli Mncwango, Jean Pretotious, Edlyn Seige, Simba Bwanya, Nicolai Blignaut, Shannon Rick, Warren Randall, Chris Micklewood (capt), Jeandre Smal, Kobus Louwrens, Quintin Crocker, Kyle Wilkinson, Matt Phillips, Jongi Nokwe, Jors Dannhauser and Dusty Noble.

Jos Robson