Acer Durban Collegians Awards Evening

Former Proteas Cricketer Pat Symcox was the guest speaker at the 2011 Annual Acer Durban Collegians Rugby Dinner and with former Griquas and Natal centre Gary Rodwell doing a very professional job as MC the proceedings turned out to a most memorable and enjoyable affair and has to rate as one of their finest awards evenings in many decades.

With a number of their legendary stalwarts including Springbok wing Trix Truter, Malcolm ‘Silent’ Swanby, Brian ‘Scharby’ Scharbram, Keith Parkinson, Rod ‘Tarz’ Bosch, Keith Thorreson and Chris Klopper to name a few on hand it was certainly an evening of rugby camaraderie of the highest order. Certainly with the delightful Nichole Concer from one of the club sponsors Mueller on hand to present the awards it added a dash of spice and she handled it well.

Indeed there was also an emotional moment at the dinner as the club bad farewell to one of their most successful coaches Ray van Noordwyk together with two of their key players Mathew ‘Gibbo’ Gibson and Steve Krause who have both called it a day.

With Sharks young blood-talented loose forward MARCEL COETZEE named Collegian of the Year it was an evening many of the youngster certainly won’t forget in a long while and no doubt the club will be looking for an even better 2012 club season

The awards winners were:

Collegian of the Year: Marcel Coetzee
Chairman's Award: John McIntosh
Wally Clarkson Service: Ray van Noordwyk
1st Player of the Year: Carl Marx
1st Most Improved: Siya Mteta
Senior SOB: Steve Krause, Scott Brown ( Shared)
2nd Most Improved: Jarred Crouch
2nd Player of the Year: Justin Webber
3rd SOB: David Wheal
4th SOB: Jacques Roux
U20 Player of the Year: Chris Bosch
U20A Most Improved: Deucullen Van Der Merwe
U20A SOB: Gareth Reece-Edwards / Leslie Orton (shared)
U20B Most Improved: Andrew Meyer
U20B SOB: Sean Jamieson