Varsity College Old Boys Annual Awards

Varsity College Old Boys held their annual rugby awards dinner on Wednesday 7th September, which also turned out to be a wonderful reunion of many of their former players who had all been invited to attend. Some of the golden oldies hadn’t attended a rugby dinner for some 20 years or more, but they certainly enjoyed catching up with old rugby mates from a bygone era as they rolled back the years.

Among the many former players that gathered to make the evening that much more special were Steve Atherton, Jeremy Thompson, Clive Henry, Derek Ross, Derek Willans, Ron Byng, Greg Hamilton, Peter Edmunds, Solly Berchowitz’ Brett Walker, Lyle Blakeway, Doug Florence, Des McClean and many others. It was indeed rugby camaraderie of the highest order.

With former Sharks, Scotland and Springbok hooker as MC and Sharks coach John Plumtree as their guest speaker a great time was had by all. John Allan had the honour of being nominated as the Old Boys Rugby Club’s second Honorary President being handed the award by their first appointed President Don Speirs also a former Natal hooker. Keeping it among the hookers earlier Dean Muir was awarded the Most Improved Open Player of the Year and is certainly a young player with huge potential.

The other awards were as follows:
Player of the Year-Brian Shabangu
Second XV Player of the Year-Mike de Kock
Third XV Player of the Year-Clint Johnson
Fourth XV Player of the Year-Dean Horn
Under 20 Player of the Year-Peet Coetzee
Under 20 ‘B’ Player of the Year-Chico Muyo
Under 19 Player of the Year-Chad Collins
Open Club Man of the Year-Aubrey Slinger
Under 20 Club Man of the Year-Kealan Henry
Most Committed Player of the Year-Raymond September
Top try scorer Open-PJ Stroebel
Top try scorer Under 20- Devon McHardy
Chairmans Award-Fritz Pieksma Boot-Dave Clark
Supporter of the Year-Peter Collins and Basil Muir
Committees Player of the Year-Biselele Tshamala